NEW YORK RIPTIDE SELECT TYSON GIBSON WITH FIRST PICK IN THE 2019 NLL ENTRY DRAFT AND UNVEIL UNIFORMS FOR INAUGURAL SEASON - New York Riptide

2022-23 SEASON TICKET MEMBERSHIPS ARE NOW ON SALE CLICK HERE

×
WK
1
Sat, Dec 3
FINAL
San Diego
15
New York
14
WK
3
Sat, Dec 17
FINAL
Halifax
20
New York
11
WK
6
Sat, Jan 7
FINAL
Toronto
15
New York
7
WK
7
Sun, Jan 15
FINAL
Rochester
11
New York
8
WK
8
Sat, Jan 21
FINAL
New York
16
Albany
10
WK
9
Sat, Jan 28
FINAL
Buffalo
16
New York
10
WK
10
Sat, Feb 4
FINAL
New York
14
Toronto
22
WK
11
Sat, Feb 11
19:30:00
Albany
New York
WK
12
Sun, Feb 19
13:00:00
New York
Halifax
WK
13
Sat, Feb 25
19:00:00
New York
Rochester
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
11:30:00
New York
Philadelphia
WK
15
Sat, Mar 11
19:30:00
Philadelphia
New York
WK
16
Sat, Mar 18
19:30:00
Albany
New York
WK
17
Sat, Mar 25
19:30:00
Georgia
New York
WK
18
Fri, Mar 31
19:00:00
New York
Georgia
WK
20
Sat, Apr 15
19:30:00
New York
Buffalo
WK
21
Sat, Apr 22
18:00:00
New York
Halifax
WK
22
Sat, Apr 29
22:00:00
New York
Vancouver
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
News

NEW YORK RIPTIDE SELECT TYSON GIBSON WITH FIRST PICK IN THE 2019 NLL ENTRY DRAFT AND UNVEIL UNIFORMS FOR INAUGURAL SEASON

New York, NY (September 17, 2019) – The New York Riptide selected forward Tyson Gibson with the first pick in the 2019 National Lacrosse League (NLL) Entry Draft. Adding to the excitement for the evening, the team also unveiled its home and away uniforms that will debut for the 2019-20 NLL season. The uniform was revealed for the first time live on B/R Live during the pre-draft show.

 

Gibson, the Northeast Conference Player of the Year as a senior at Robert Morris in 2019, guided the Colonials to back-to-back NCAA Tournament appearances in his last two seasons following back-to-back NEC Tournament championships in those same years. He was a USILA All-American as a senior and was the first Robert Morris player to earn three All-NEC honors during his career. He has spent the last two summers as a member of the Victoria Shamrocks in the Western Lacrosse Association, earning a spot in the Mann Cup Final this season. With Victoria, he saw action in 21 games in two seasons, scoring 59 points on 30 goals and 29 assists.

 

The Riptide’s uniforms have a clean, modern look with several eye-catching elements. The team’s distinctive primary logo, featuring a lacrosse stick in action, amid swirling water, is on the center chest with the NLL shield just above by the collar. The team’s secondary logo, featuring the city’s initials with a lacrosse stick incorporated into the “Y”, can be found on the shoulders, and sea foam green swirling water encircles each players’ number on the arm. The shorts feature the secondary logo on the right leg with player numbers on the left. The team’s home uniforms are navy blue and away uniforms are white.

 

“What an incredible night for the New York Riptide,” Riptide Head Coach and General Manager Regy Thorpe said. “We are thrilled to welcome Tyson to New York and unveil our new uniforms that the players will proudly wear during our upcoming inaugural season. Tyson will be a strong presence on our right side and brings skill and experience to the lineup.”

 

Fans can purchase the new Riptide jersey and team merchandise at www.shopnyriptide.com.

 

The Riptide open the 2019-20 NLL season on the road on Saturday, December 7 at 6 p.m. against the Halifax Thunderbirds. The team debuts at NYCB LIVE, Home of the Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum on Saturday, December 28 at 7:30pm against the Saskatchewan Rush.

 

Fans can purchase season ticket memberships by visiting www.NewYorkRiptide.com or speak to a customer service representative at 516-888-6879. Fans can alsofollow the team @NewYorkRiptide to receive behind the scenes information as the team prepares for the 2019-20 season.

New York Riptide
adnxs