Orlin & Cohen Postgame Report: Riptide Defeated By Thunderbirds In Nail Biter In Hamilton - New York Riptide

2023-24 SEASON TICKET MEMBERSHIPS ARE NOW ON SALE CLICK HERE

×
WK
1
Sat, Dec 2
19:30:00
Philadelphia
New York
WK
3
Sat, Dec 16
19:30:00
Halifax
New York
WK
5
Sat, Dec 30
16:00:00
New York
Toronto
WK
6
Sun, Jan 7
15:00:00
New York
Philadelphia
WK
7
Sat, Jan 13
19:30:00
Panther City
New York
WK
8
Fri, Jan 19
19:30:00
New York
Buffalo
WK
9
Sat, Jan 27
19:30:00
Georgia
New York
WK
10
Fri, Feb 2
21:00:00
New York
Calgary
WK
11
Sat, Feb 10
19:30:00
San Diego
New York
WK
13
Fri, Feb 23
21:00:00
New York
Colorado
WK
14
Sat, Mar 2
19:00:00
New York
Albany
WK
15
Sat, Mar 9
19:30:00
Las Vegas
New York
WK
16
Sat, Mar 16
20:30:00
New York
Saskatchewan
WK
17
Sat, Mar 23
19:30:00
Saskatchewan
New York
WK
18
Sat, Mar 30
19:30:00
Toronto
New York
WK
19
Sat, Apr 6
19:00:00
New York
Rochester
WK
20
Sat, Apr 13
22:00:00
New York
Vancouver
WK
21
Sat, Apr 20
19:30:00
Albany
New York
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
Game Recaps

Orlin & Cohen Postgame Report: Riptide Defeated By Thunderbirds In Nail Biter In Hamilton

Hamilton, ON – New York Riptide forward Callum Crawford scored seven points on four goals and three assists, but the Riptide (1-6) were defeated 13-10 by the Halifax Thunderbirds (4-1) at FirstOntario Centre in Hamilton, Ontario Friday evening.

 

Riptide forward Jeff Teat finished the game with three assists, and currently leads all rookies in scoring with 34 points on 10 goals and 24 assists (leads all categories).

 

After forward Connor Kearnan scored the game opening goal for the Riptide, the Thunderbirds followed it up with five straight goals to take a 5-1 lead early into the second quarter. As the Riptide went on the penalty kill, defenseman Damon Edwards scooped a loose ball and took it end-to-end for the score to cut the Halifax lead to three. The teams traded a pair of goals with Crawford and forward Tyson Gibson netting for the Riptide. New York would tally a pair in the final 4:14 of the first half, scored by Crawford and defenseman Scott Dominey, to head into the break down 7-6.

 

Crawford got the second half underway with a power play goal to tie the game at seven, but it was the Thunderbirds who responded with two goals to go up a pair heading into the fourth quarter.

 

After two Halifax goals to open up the final frame, Kearnan netted his second of the game to cut the lead to 11-8. The Thunderbirds responded with a goal of their own and shortly after, the Riptide were awarded a major penalty. New York took advantage, scoring twice, with goals from Crawford and McArdle. Halifax sealed it with 2:37 left on an empty net goal.

 

The Riptide will now head to Georgia to take on the Georgia Swarm next weekend on Saturday, February 12, at 6:00pm ET at Gas South Arena. Be sure to tune in to ESPN+ on television and WRHU Radio Hofstra University on the radio and web for coverage and follow @NewYorkRiptide on social media for updates.

 

New York Riptide
adnxs