Cancellation Of NLL Season Due To Covid-19 | Uniondale

2022-23 SEASON TICKET MEMBERSHIPS ARE NOW ON SALE CLICK HERE

×
WK
1
Sat, Dec 3
7:30 pm ET
Seals
Riptide
WK
3
Sat, Dec 17
7:30 pm ET
Thunderbirds
Riptide
WK
6
Sat, Jan 7
7:30 pm ET
Rock
Riptide
WK
7
Sun, Jan 15
3:00 pm ET
Knighthawks
Riptide
WK
8
Sat, Jan 21
7:00 pm ET
Riptide
FireWolves
WK
9
Sat, Jan 28
7:30 pm ET
Bandits
Riptide
WK
10
Sat, Feb 4
7:00 pm ET
Riptide
Rock
WK
11
Sat, Feb 11
7:30 pm ET
FireWolves
Riptide
WK
12
Sun, Feb 19
1:00 pm ET
Riptide
Thunderbirds
WK
13
Sat, Feb 25
7:00 pm ET
Riptide
Knighthawks
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
11:30 am ET
Riptide
Wings
WK
15
Sat, Mar 11
7:30 pm ET
Wings
Riptide
WK
16
Sat, Mar 18
7:30 pm ET
FireWolves
Riptide
WK
17
Sat, Mar 25
7:30 pm ET
Swarm
Riptide
WK
18
Fri, Mar 31
7:30 pm ET
Riptide
Swarm
WK
20
Sat, Apr 15
7:30 pm ET
Riptide
Bandits
WK
21
Sat, Apr 22
6:00 pm ET
Riptide
Thunderbirds
WK
22
Sat, Apr 29
10:00 pm ET
Riptide
Warriors
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
Uncategorized

Riptide Inaugural Season Over As NLL Cancels Remainder Of Regular Season

New York, NY (April 8, 2020) – The inaugural season for the New York Riptide is now concluded as the National Lacrosse announced today that the remainder of the 2019-20 regular season has been cancelled due to concerns over COVID-19.

 

“We are in the midst of an unprecedented and incredibly trying time in the world and in our hometowns right now,” said Rich Lisk, Executive VP of GF Sports. “While we are disappointed that the NLL season has concluded this way, on behalf of everyone at the Riptide and GF Sports, our thoughts are first and foremost with all those that are affected by COVID-19 and we urge everyone to stay safe. We are proud to have brought indoor lacrosse back to Long Island this past year, and now look forward to building on the strong foundation we have established during the Riptide’s inaugural season. Thank you to our incredible fans, community partners and sponsors for all your support.”

 

League officials are looking at any number of scenarios to return to play when all stakeholders and health officials deem that possible. There is no timeline on when decisions will be made. The league suspended regular season play on March 12th due to COVID-19. In its inaugural season, the Riptide finished 1-12. They were led offensively by rookie Tyson Gibson with 43 points on 16 goals and 27 assists while Dan Lomas had 42 points on 21 goals and 21 assists. The team captured the first win in franchise history on January 18th against the Georgia Swarm.

 

In their inaugural season, the Riptide played six games at NYCB LIVE, home of the Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum and had a significant impact on the Long Island community. The team donated over 3,000 tickets to local non-profits, bringing the game to those that might not have been able to attend otherwise. They hosted multiple clinics for local lacrosse groups throughout the season and impacted the lives of over 2,000 kids through their anti-bullying and anti-vaping school programs.

 

Fans who had tickets to the final three games of the Riptide season at NYCB LIVE will receive additional correspondence about their options.

 

For more information or any questions or concerns, please visit NewYorkRiptide.com or on social media at @NewYorkRiptide.

New York Riptide
adnxs